
WOW. WOW...
We're here, we're really, really here. I guess that seems obvious to everyone else but since our touchdown in Japan I've been poking Phil in the ribs, grinning and saying: "Phil...we're totally in Japan, how weird is THAT?"
As I'm sure Phil will mention, our flight on Japan Air to Narita blew all other flights I have ever taken out of the water. It would prove to be only a miniscule forshadowing of the kind of treatment and service that is typical in Japan.
There's so much to say, I'm not sure I can relay it in any logical order. I fancy I will throw a few thoughts around.
Our first meal in Japan was pizza. Yes, pizza - and it was amazing. After arriving in Yukarigaoka, two train stops up from MIL's main location in Katsutadai, we settled into our hotel ( Hotel Wishton Yukari) and were starving. We dumped our bags and then wandered around (mostly bewildered) to try to find a place to eat. Ordering involved a lot of pointing and the waitress seemed pretty weirded out that we each wanted to eat a whole pizza...either that or we were impressing her with our barbaric table manners, not sure which; maybe both?
After inhaling dinner, we returned to our teeny weeny hotel room, laid our heads down on our teeny pillows and slept.
Okay, focus..focus...hmmm, there are just so many thoughts and pictures flashing in my mind's eye right now.
There are not nearly as many 'gaijin' (foreigners) here as I initially imagined. When we were walking around on the street, I feel like I was playing 'slug-a-gaijin' or something. Not nearly enough volkswagons here for the original version of that game.

Funny thing is, when we come across one, Phil and I tend to cringe a little and look away. Phil says there are two kinds of tourists: The ones who are relieved to see other Americans and the ones who are just plain old embarrassed. (No offense, YA'LLLLLLLLL.....)
OKAY, OKAY, I HAVE A CONFESSION...THIS BLOG ENTRY IS A COMPILATION OF RANDOM THOUGHTS OVER THE LAST FEW DAYS...also, I am insane.

Phil and I are loving it here. There is amazement and wonder around every corner. We have already experienced so much + we're loving the language barrier. We've already learned a decent amount in the little time we've been here. The funny thing is though that all the other languages I've had experience with are popping into my head while I'm trying to speak Japanese. Spanish is driving me INSANE. It somehow sounds a lot like Japanese to me and it's got my brain in a rubix cube.
I mean...here's a tiny example:
Engrrrrish: Where is Tokyo station?
Japanese: Tokyo eki, doko des ka?
Spanish: Estacion de Tokyo, donde esta? ( Okay, you probably wouldn't arrange that sentence like that in spanish but i'm trying to make a point, Hai?)
So I've been thinking about the spanish equivalent for pretty much everything I've been trying to learn in japanese. Wouldn't it be ironic if somehow I learned more spanish here than I ever did in Central America?
Hmm, what else to say. Oh yes. Message to all my guy friends who are currently NOT in Japan: you're missing out. There are so many unbelievably hot chicks here. That said: I feel at least a little like a big boned amazonian burrowing toad, well...mostly when I'm shopping for clothes. I think I'm an XL here. GODZILLLLLA, rarrrr.
Speaking of shopping, Phil and I spontaneously ventured to Tokyo yesterday. It took us about twice the time it should have to get there since we were trying to figure out the train and subway routes. It's not really so bad at all. Well, definately confusing at first but I think by the end of the day we were getting the hang of it. Once in Central Tokyo, we wandered around in a massive shopping center. There was a massive book store that took up a few floors of the building where we managed to find an english-japanese and a japanese-english dictionary: very exciting for us.
Oh, that reminds me... we were checking out at the cashiers when phil reached into his bag and ripped open a scab he had on his knuckle and then started to pour blood all over the counter and floor. The poor girl at the counter couldn't figure out why Phil wasn't just putting his money in the little money tray on the counter. She finally looked over the counter (by this time I'm JUST catching on to what is happening since i was at another register) and saw blood running down his fingers. She quickly snatched up some first aid stuff and had phil disinfected and bandaged in minutes. We felt really bad because there was a lot of blood and well...the Japanese seem pretty keen on hygiene. I could only imagine that after we left they called in the biological hazard cleanup crew. (Picture that scene in ET with all the people in the slinky tubes and suits...)
Afterwards we had lunch in a great little place under the train tracks. The food was so good. In fact, everything we've eaten so far has been amazing. I have never eaten such good food in my entire life. I've never seen Phil eat so slowly! Hill, you know what I'm talking about...
After eating, we decided to go to Shibuya (on a Saturday afternoon, no less). For those of you who may not know, Shibuya is one of THE hippest youth oriented shopping districts in all Japan, possibly the world too. Remember that scene in 'lost in translation' where she's crossing the street with the umbrella in front of the building that is basically a giant tv? That's in Shibuya. I've never experienced anything like that place in my entire life - so amazing. We found a used clothing store in an alley and I bought an absolutely beautiful kimono for $25, it was such a great find. I'll have to post a pic of it soon. One thing is for sure, there is no way anyone could possibly be bored here, even if they tried.
Oh, by the way, I'm leaving out lots and lots and lots. There's no way to encompass it all: Disclaimer.
I'm going to stop for now and hope that my thoughts become at least a little more coherent. There has been so little time to reflect at all, I feel less like a poet and more like a drooling word muncher. So that's it for now, until next time...sayonara.